Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

White headlight bulbs

Discuss your latest mods or ideas, and anything to do with the BMW X5 (E70).
skins83

White headlight bulbs

Post by skins83 » Tue Jan 20, 2015 8:04 pm

Hi guys
Im after replacing the standard yellow bulbs for my xenon's for some nice white looking ones but there just seems to be so many different types for sale which just baffles me which to go for. Anyone have any recommendations of ones they have gone for or heard positive things off as i would rather pick some that way rather than randomly off ebay as there is so many.
Cheers

jmhc

Re: White headlight bulbs

Post by jmhc » Wed Jan 21, 2015 10:33 am

Hello skins83,

I am a newbie so bear with this if you would.

Do you have halogens (H7) now, or is the vehicle fitted with factory HID lamps?

I believe many OEM HID's are around 4300K(Kelvin) so you should be able to obtain 5000 or 6000K replacments

You do not want to go over 6000K(kelvin) lamps (unless you want the visual effect) as the higher colour temperatures actually produce less usable light on the road. 5000K would be my choice, YMMF.

I have experimented with a UK sourced ebay supplier for the Landrover's H4 hi/lo (Dip/high) & have some light to cast on that subject.  I have though changed these for an LED H4 lamp again ebay this time from Shenzen, china.  All, LED & HID are available in most lamps types, H4, H7 etc...

The HID's (35w) were brighter than the Halogens(100/80w, not the std 60/55w, H7 are 55w I think) by a very great margin on Dip, but the high was not well defined & did not produce much reach.  Poor design which as far as I can see ALL H4 based kits have.  Dip also caused glare causing multiple flash's from annoyed motorists, poor beam forming & cutoff.  Aftermarket HID kits are apparently not OK (legal) for UK use BTW, I had to remove them for the MOT as it failed on this item.