Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

Hello from Niagara Falls Canada

Introduce yourself, (and post a photo if you have one).
Rushfan69

Post by Rushfan69 » Tue Aug 10, 2021 5:52 pm

Just purchased an '08 X3 3.0si with 220,000 km
It's Platinbronze with black leather(ette?) interior.
I also own an E46 330xi and my experience with it lead me to the X3. I thoroughly enjoy driving the E46 :D :driving:
I'm also a licensed mechanic and have owned and worked on a full gammit of automobiles.
I am an avid Subaru Outback lover for winters here, but my current 2001 VDC is at 320,000km and showing more rust underneath than I am comfortable with.
The X3 was stuck in limp mode when I looked at it. Couldn't rev it beyond 2000 rpms. Wouldn't drive more than 5km/h. I pulled a few codes off it. One being a cylinder 4 misfire. The owner looked perplexed to see so many codes present/historical.
Also, the valvetronic servo was unplugged, but I can see how that's possibly knocked off when installing the engine cover. I plugged it back in. The throttle response improved right away, but the misfire was still there.
I explained to the owner that there are a number of resons why the vehicle could be stuck in limp mode and I think it scared him into salvaging something a bit more than a salvage yard price for the vehicle. Needless to say, I paid very little for the vehicle
I towed it home after I purchased it. Swapping the plug and coil from cyl 4 to cyl 3 took the misfire with it, so a used coil and a new plug quickly rectified limp mode and the engine runs smooth now. :thumbsup:
Now to find out why the cooling fan does not come on with AC
Here is the list of history codes; (not present)
Engine
2EFE DME Electric Fan Activation
Misfire at low tank fill level
2A39 DME Valvetronic adjustment range
29D0 DME misfire Cyl 4 (present)

ABS
Brake-light switch permanently actuated