Advice on engine failure..

Discuss your latest mods or ideas, and anything to do with the BMW X5 (E53).
Themoog2

Post by Themoog2 » Thu May 09, 2024 5:00 am

No it's not my X5..
We recently bought an Audi Q7 4.2tdi for the wife from a dealer. It's still under warranty but I fancied picking the brains on here.
All driving fine no problem until yesterday when I parked on the drive and I noticed oil coming from both tailpipes.. Not good. Upon lifting off the engine cover I was also greeted by the engine covered in oil. At the time there was no indication of anything wrong so I restarted it and after a few seconds the eml came on and a curly wire type light which I think maybe a glow plug light. It also started to run lumpy indicating a miss fire.
I called the dealer where we purchased it and he said get it to a garage for diagnosis and we can take it from there.
What do you think? I'm not sure I want to drive it.
I'm not a expert on Tdi engines but it seems pretty terminal to me with oil coming from the tailpipes. Something has let go and the oil has decided it doesn't want to stay around.
We have only had it a month so could we just reject the car for a refund to save any agro? I have a feeling the dealer has to attempt repairs forts though which is only going to drag on.
Thoughts.

Alan Gunn
Snr Member
Snr Member

Post by Alan Gunn » Thu May 09, 2024 5:11 am

Send it back asap.
Don't no much about them but i know of one that is forever in the garage.
The last thing i remember failing on it was the brake servo and for some strange reason they put that inside the bell-housing and what a job.

sapphireblack
Snr Member
Snr Member

Post by sapphireblack » Thu May 09, 2024 9:33 am

I dont think I'd be driving it anywhere. Surely, for the dealers' own sake, it should be transported away, preferably back to them for a refund.
If you drive it and the enging lets go, it has the potential to become a whole world of pain about liability.

X5Sport
Global Moderator