Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

Front lights Halogen/Xenon

Discuss your latest mods or ideas, and anything to do with the BMW X5 (E70).
kougarman

Front lights Halogen/Xenon

Post by kougarman » Tue Dec 29, 2015 8:07 pm

Hi All - I'm a newbie to the forum and need some advice.  I'm just in the last throws of buying my 1st X5 SE  "57" (Nov 2007)plate from a BMW dealer but need some guidance on what type of lights the car is fitted with when it leaves the factory?  Our top buying feature and 1st question to the salesman was when enquiring about the X5 was did it have xenon lights (or bi xenon).  Trouble is, nowhere on the sales details he emailed me does it mention "xenons"  My current 4 x 4 has xenon for low beam and halogen for main beam and we don't want anything less than that.  So, is the standard fit all halogen or part xenon, part halogen?  I'II appreciate a quick response as I hope to conclude the deal tomorrow and it could be a deal stopper! 

Horizon
Snr Member
Snr Member

Re: Front lights Halogen/Xenon

Post by Horizon » Tue Dec 29, 2015 8:24 pm

On the E70 the Xenon equipped cars have a dummy inner lamp that houses the Angel eye bulb. This bulb feeds the rings in each headlight unit via a light tube. The dipped beam and high beam are the same bulb, but with a flap that lifts when on high beam. ( bi xenon )
The halogen version has an angel eye bulb ( which needs the head light or at least the wheel arch liner removing to replace the bulb, mare of a job to replace, and two separate bulbs for high or dipped beam in the adjoining light compartments I think. These may enable the dipped beam bulb to be changed to a HID bulb to upgrade to Xenon standard as was the E53.